I was diagnosed with insomnia in high school. I was working in a movie theater and staying out till very late, sometimes we wouldn’t screen a movie until 2 and 3am. I would get my popcorn, grab a huge soda, and sit in a theater and watch a movie. A majority of the time it was several of us, but on occassion we would each sit alone in a theater to make sure it ran well. I remember watching The Skulls at 3am, by myself, with a huge glass of Cherry Coke and popcorn…. That is when I knew I was not like everyone else.

I would go on church trips and I remember laying in bed, eyes open, unable to sleep. I would stare at the clock, which is what most insomniacs complain about, I also would watch smoke detectors blinking on and off…

My mom saw there was an issue, so I went to the doctor and got put on meds. There was about a 15 minute window before I feel asleep wherever I was once I was on the meds. That helped for quite a bit, but the meds had a side effect that would wake me up after a few hours and keep me awake the rest of the night.

I’ve always enjoyed sleep, but always had a hard time getting to sleep.

What do you do to help you go to sleep? I’ve always been a night owl, and sometimes struggle to get to sleep. I had more to talk about with this but TOTALLY blanked out on it!

