So, kitten cam has gotten nearly 100,000 views in 5 weeks and has really messed with my head. Anywho, just yesterday ustream.tv was giving me some sort of crazy connection error and wouldn’t let me connect with any browser on any computer to stream. My first thought was it was our internet filter, SafeEyes, that was causing some issue and just blocking it randomly, but it seemed to be a widespread event with other ustream cams to be down as well.

So I sent out a tweet:
@3amjosh Something is wrong with @ustreamtv @ustreamtvsupport Won’t let me broadcast on any browser. Kitten cam viewers not happy! Help!

and within a minute or two I received this @ reply
@ustreamsupport: @3amjosh what happens when you try?, DM me your number and I can help troubleshoot

So I sent a DM with my number and within 1-2 minutes I was on with tech support for ustream.tv! No waiting while listening to horrible music, sent out a tweet, gave them my number and in minutes I was on the phone with an extremely helpful ustream support guy, who even has been a fan of kittens cam and wanted to get it back up and running A.S.A.P.

It was some sort of bug in the ustream.tv system that was messing up a lot of the streams but they fixed it within 20-30 minutes and all of the viewers were happy again.

It’s a new age of customer service. To be able to send out a cry for help and be helped out kindly and quickly is huge! Is your company online looking to see what folks are saying about you? It seems if your not, you might have some customers who when in distress might switch services. Get someone from your computer scanning twitter now!

