Thursday we were at a football game and I heard this from a kid sitting a couple rows back “GO BULLDOGS, YEAH” and it I just thought to myself the thunder of enthusiasm that the little voice threw out, only heard by a few, but was stronger than any cheer the squad or fans could put out. If those words could have met the ears of the football team it would have undoubtedly led to a better chance at victory. Not because I’m some weird guy, but because I know the trueness of that one little roaring shout rang truer than anything what most of us can produce on a daily basis. Sure, I’ve had many times where I get excited and let out a Woot or a cheer, but to me a kids cheers and encouragement, so genuine and true, can make a difference if heard by more people.

Today, I opened my mailbox to find a handwritten letter to me. Not often that I get it, and even less often that it’s just to me. Usually, it’s something from some friends or relatives about a wedding or some other special occasion. Well, this was not. I opened it up to find words of encouragement that no one else could really give to me that are so genuine. I’m not very good at receiving compliments, and never really know how to respond, but to this my response was simple, joy. Just made me happy to open this up and see that a child took the time to draw out a picture and give me a word of encouragement. Awesome! Well, here it is. Words of encouragement, especially hand written, can go a long way. So maybe write someone a letter and thank them for what they have done for you. Find the childlike innocence and true appreciation you have for what others have done in your life and share that with them and see how it brightens their day!

Words of encouragement from a Child

Words of encouragement from a Child

